Myths of the Norsemen by Roger Lancelyn Green

Following my reading The Saga of the Volsungs, I very much enjoyed reading Myths of the Norsemen, Roger Lancelyn Green’s telling of Norse Mythology. I especially enjoyed the tale of Andvari’s Ring as I had already encountered the tale in The Saga of the Volsungs and found it interesting to revisit the story of Sigurd from an alternate perspective, with the narrative emphasis on the curse that Andvari’s ring brought. I also really enjoyed some of the other image and narrative devices in the book. For example, I very much liked the image of Iduna’s Apple, the figure of this apple maiden representing eternal youth. I also enjoyed the replacing of Sif’s hair with dwarf-made golden chains, the natural being replaced with industrial and magical. The gifts that accompany the new hair are also a marvellous array of magical invention. I really good read.

Next Book: The Key of Creation by Kevin J. Anderson

One thought on “Myths of the Norsemen by Roger Lancelyn Green

Leave a comment