Reading for pleasure

I started writing this blog in order to put aside more me time, to read and bake and have an excuse to do things that I love without feeling guilty. However, I have been doing lots of things, just not cataloging them, so get ready for a wave of activity!

Reading…

After reading and enjoying The Saga of the Volsungs in January I decided to read The Elder Edda which with work commitments, plays and general life, did not get finished. So I decided to read something that I could read snippets here and there, on quiet nights in and train journeys. So I chose to read Kevin J. Anderson’s The Edge of the World the first book of the Terra Incognita series. I admit that I have always loved fantasy, sci-fi, travel, worlds, maps so the book seemed ideal and honestly, I think it was just what I needed.

I really enjoyed the mythology of the book, it was very immersive and worked really well. A strong mythology is something that I think is really important and find interesting and exciting in fantasy fiction, especially if there is a creation story. I find the creation of new worlds very cool and love to see how people paint their world with landscapes, cultures and stories, their narratives stretching out over mountains, deserts and vast oceans and into the unknown. Exploring these exciting new worlds is what I love about sci-fi and fantasy books like Lord of the Rings and Pratchett’s Discworld Series and Anderson captures this spirit in his book. I look forward to reading the next book.

Next book The Map of All Things by Kevin J. Anderson

Leave a comment